Timing

love-o-clock

Borrowed from Single Gal in the City

I’ve long held the belief that the only two things a relationship needs to initially take hold is chemistry and timing. If one is off or missing, the whole thing will fall apart.

Unfortunately, the timing with Mr. Full of Potential was just wrong. The chemistry was amazing, but after our Bangkok getaway, he headed back to Myanmar for work.

The digital chatter continued, but as the weeks went on, it started to wane. He was frustrated – who can blame him? He was stuck in a remote village that Lonely Planet suggests you skip, for four weeks longer than he had expected.

After a day of beaching, and beers I came home and sent the following:

“We’ve missed our chance, haven’t we?”

The subsequent conversation revealed his frustration with the situation and how much he hates his life right now. And then he disappeared. POOF! Just like that.

I sent him a follow-up email, because I hated how things were left. I’d spent days writing it, obsessing over every word and comma.

 

It’s been three weeks and still nothing.

I hate that the timing was wrong. I hate that I was wrong about him – how do you not respond to that email!? I hate that I actually liked this one. I hate that I would still totally see him if he did get in touch.

The thing is, I’ve been dating a while. In cities around the world. I know how rare it is to find anyone you like enough to go on a second date with, let alone spend a whole weekend together.

Timing. Ugh.

Screw you time. We’re in a huge fight right now.

  1. 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment